Shop My Closet

When its 2 a.m. and I haven’t written a word of my seminar paper all day, having discovered the wonders of etsy.com and about five billion new decorating blogs, what’s a girl to do?  Oh, that’s right–try on clothes.  Except today was one of those days in which I actually discovered something new.  Brave uncharted wardrobe territory in the form of a dress gifted to me by my beautiful cousin two Christmases ago, but yet to be worn.

Said dress has a super cute BCBG-esque pattern and great colors…

But the shape just never seemed right for me (not-so-long-and-lean pear shape that I am).  You see, the billowing sleeves and low V with empire waist and polyester/spandex blend fabric made me look (1) dowdy and (2) failed to show any hint of a figure.  I love the pattern of the bottom, I just wasn’t crazy about how the top fit me.

‘Twas time to improvise.

The stretchy polyster/spandex blend fabric allowed me to put the dress on as-intended, then pull one of the sleeves actually over my head and onto the other shoulder.  After tucking the in-place sleeve into the pulled over sleeve and twisting a little, voila! Grecian-inspired one-shoulder dress, styled with my black Franco Sarto gladiators and perfect for a casual summer party.

For Look #2, I actually tucked the whole top of the dress under the elastic waist band (this is an old trick, and works with virtually any dress that has stretchy fabric and a somewhat tight waistband).  After belting with my lavender J Crew skinny belt (first time owner of one of these, but immediately an addict), I have a new going-out dress right from my closet!

Lesson learned that sometimes one (or two) new outfits are right there hiding in my closet.  And who says I didn’t accomplish something today. 🙂

Leave a Reply

New posts, delivered fresh to your inbox.

Join 7 other followers

Archives

