The Beauty of a Clean Slate

It’s times like these that I should feel like the world’s worst procrastinator.  However, having been in law school for 2.89 years (by my approximation) with others of the world’s worst procrastinators, I am comfortable in knowing that I’m in good company.  This only relaxes my stress and makes me procrastinate more.  See: downward spiral.

On nights like tonight, when I have to go to bed knowing I didn’t accomplish even half of what I set out to do with my day, I’m always comforted by this certain quote that comes to mind.

But first, a little background.  As favorite writers go, Ralph Waldo Emerson must rank up in my top five of all time.   I first learned of Ralph Waldo Emerson when my mother handed me a copy of Self-Reliance to get inspiration for a speech I was giving to my graduating 8th grade class. Fancy, I know.  While I’m sure my mother’s intentions were innocent, she underestimated the fiery depths of her young daughter’s anti-authority angst.  So, it was Emerson that helped me produce what could very well be the most defiant, civilly disobedient  graduation speech that a thirteen year old ever wrote.  Nonetheless, when I started reading Emerson, it was love.

And so, without further adieu, one of my all-time favorite RWE quotes:

“Finish each day and be done with it. You have done what you could; no doubt some blunders and absurdities have crept in; forget them as soon as you can. Tomorrow is a new day; you shall begin it serenely and with too high a spirit to be encumbered with your old nonsense.”

When I think of this, I feel okay about my procrastination failures of today.  I can stop beating myself up about it, and just rest easy. Tomorrow is a new day, a new opportunity.  And of that, I can be certain.

Leave a Reply

New posts, delivered fresh to your inbox.

Join 7 other followers

Archives

