Get Clean

Did I mention that I’m trying to clean up my diet this month??? I did this last semester and it worked wonders–I felt better and looked better. Turns out, there is a bunch of nasty unnecessary stuff in my day-to-day eating, and when I do this “clean up”, I am reminded that this is the way that my body likes to eat and what it really needs, and the rest is just superfluous. So, here’s what I’m doing:

Eating:
-lean protein
-legumes
-veggies, load of ’em
-fruit
-eggs
-skim milk
-nuts and natural nut butter
-olive oil

Avoiding:
-white carbs
-added sugar
-processed anything
-cheese (sad face, but I have a serious cheese snacking problem and need to cut it out for now)
-butter, mayo, etc.

So, one week in and this clean up is surprisingly easy. Maybe my body is saying “thank you, we couldn’t handle another yogurt bowl full to the brim with reeses peanut butter cups??” I dunno. Granted, I do relax and enjoy a bit on weekends, so that helps.

I will update on progress and pitfalls. Also, I plan to post some recipes made in my attempt to eat healthy and clean. For now, see below for breakfast. This purple monster smoothie was made with: 1/2 c frozen blueberries, a banana, 1/2 c skim milk, 1 tbsp natural pb. Blend and enjoy.

Leave a Reply

New posts, delivered fresh to your inbox.

Join 7 other followers

Archives

