Ideas

I kind of want to start a book club for certain kind of people. Like for snobby intellectuals who occasionally (but not regularly) visit 311 Club and refused to read the Da Vinci Code on principle alone but secretly loved Eat Pray Love and/or Mitch Albom books though they hate admitting it.

Those kind of people.

What books will we read?  Good books, of course.  What will we talk about?  Cool things, of course.  What won’t we talk about?  Our feelings.  Not allowed.

When will I assemble said club?  Never.  Because there are probably three such people in Austin and they will never admit to liking Eat Pray Love and/or Mitch Albom books and thus I will never know I’ve found them when I do encounter them at 311.

Speaking of books, I recently re-read The Bell Jar, which seemed like a good idea at the time until my friend Courtney reminded me that people who are actually in the bell jar aren’t supposed to read The Bell Jar.

Noted.

Speaking of Courtney…now that I think of it…she may actually fit the required book club participant description.

Book Club:

formed.

And thus concludes this deeply considered, well structured post.

Leave a Reply

New posts, delivered fresh to your inbox.

Join 7 other followers

Archives

